List of Presidents of India
static gk

List of Presidents of India

In 1947, India picked up its freedom from British rule. It was a memorable year for India. Right now, will become acquainted with pretty much all the Presidents of India from 1950 to 2017.

The list of Presidents of India holds pertinence for the general mindfulness segment of different serious tests. Competitors getting ready for the UPSC test, Bank test, Insurance test, or any Government test must keep mindful of the number of presidents and their residency of office in the nation.

List of Presidents of India is significant for the Polity area in the UPSC test. Competitors getting ready for the UPSC Examination can check huge data on the test in the connected article.

List Of Indian Presidents From 1950 – 2019

The President of the Republic of India is the leader of the province of India and the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces.

The Constitution of India was received on January 26, 1950, and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was chosen as the primary protected leader of the express, the President of India.

Since 1950, India has had its 14 full-time Presidents and there have been residencies when the nation was going by an acting president.

Pranab Mukherjee, the thirteenth President of India, finished his term in July 2017. Despite the fact that he was qualified, he didn’t challenge for re-appointment. Thus, Ram Nath Kovind on July 25th, 2017, turned into the fourteenth Indian President, designated by the Electoral College.

The Indian Presidents list from 1950 till 2019 is given in the table beneath:

Name Tenure Significance
Dr. Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950 to 12 May 1962 First president, longest tenure (12 years)
S. Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 to 13 May 1967 First President from South India
Dr. Zakir Hussain 13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969 First Muslim President
Varahagiri Venkatagiri (Acting President) 3 May 1969 to 20 July 1969 First Acting President
Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah (Acting President) 20 July 1969 to 24 August 1974 Served as the Chief Justice of India
Varahagiri Venkatagiri 24 August 1969 to 24 August 1974 Served as both an acting President and President of India
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977 Second Indian President to die in office
Basappa Danappa Jatti 11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977 Served as acting President of India upon Ahmed’s death
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982 Youngest President at the age of 64, also, the first president who did not become vice -president
Giani Zail Singh 25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987 First Sikh President
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July to 1987    25 July 1992 Oldest to become President at the age of 76
Shankar Dayal Sharma  25 July 1992 to 25 July 1997 Sharma was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh
Kocheril Raman Narayanan 25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002 He was the first President from Kerala, and also the first Dalit President.
Dr. .A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007 He was the first bachelor/Scientist president of India and the first Muslim President who completed his term
Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 to 25 July 2012 First Woman President of India
Pranab Mukherjee 25 July 2012 to 25 July 2017 Served as the Foreign Minister, Defence Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission
Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 – Incumbent 14th President of India

Get more Static GK updates – Click Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.