static gk

List of Bharat Ratna Awards and Awardees

List of Bharat Ratna Awards – Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the Republic of India. Instituted on 2 January 1954, the award is conferred “in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order”, without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex. Till date 48 awards have been given. There is no written provision that Bharat Ratna should be awarded to Indian citizens only. The award has been awarded to a naturalized Indian citizen, Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu, better known as Mother Teresa (1980) and to two non-Indians – Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan and Nelson Mandela (1990).

List of Bharat Ratna Awards and Awardees

Year Recipients Field State
1954 C. Rajagopalachari Politician Tamil Nadu
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Philosopher Tamil Nadu
C. V. Raman Physicist Tamil Nadu
1955 Bhagwan Das Independence activist Uttar Pradesh
M. Visvesvaraya Engineer Karnataka
Jawaharlal Nehru Independence activist Uttar Pradesh
1957 Govind Ballabh Pant Freedom Fighter Uttarakhand
1958 Dhondo Keshav Karve Social Reformer Maharashtra
1961 Bidhan Chandra Roy Political Leader West Bengal
Purushottam Das Tandon Freedom Fighter Uttar Pradesh
1962 Rajendra Prasad Political Leader Bihar
1963 Zakir Husain Economist Uttar Pradesh
Pandurang Vaman Kane Education Maharashtra
1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri (Posthumous) Indian Politician Uttar Pradesh
1971 Indira Gandhi Politician Uttar Pradesh
1975 V. V. Giri Freedom Fighter Odisha
1976 K. Kamaraj Independence activist Tamil Nadu
1980 Mother Teresa (Naturalized Citizen) Social Reform North Macedonia
1983 Vinoba Bhave (Posthumous) Education Maharashtra
1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (Non-Indian Citizen) Independence activist Pakistan
1988 M. G. Ramachandran Politician Tamil Nadu
1990 B. R. Ambedkar Jurist Madhya Pradesh
Nelson Mandela (Non-Indian Citizen) Revolutionist South Africa
1991 Rajiv Gandhi (Posthumous) Politician Uttar Pradesh
Vallabhbhai Patel (Posthumous) Politician Gujarat
Morarji Desai Independence Activist Gujarat
1992 Abul Kalam Azad (Posthumous) Independence Activist West Bengal
J. R. D. Tata Entrepreneur Maharashtra
Satyajit Ray Art West Bengal
1997 Gulzarilal Nanda Independence Activist Punjab
Aruna Asaf Ali (Posthumous) Independence Activist West Bengal
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam Scientist Tamil Nadu
1998 M. S. Subbulakshmi Vocalist Tamil Nadu
Chidambaram Subramaniam Independence activist Tamil Nadu
1999 Jayaprakash Narayan Independence activist Bihar
Amartya Sen Economist West Bengal
Gopinath Bordoloi (Posthumous) Independence activist Assam
Ravi Shankar Musician West Bengal
2001 Lata Mangeshkar Singer Maharashtra
Bismillah Khan Musician Bihar
2009 Bhimsen Joshi Classical Vocalist Karnataka
2014 C. N. R. Rao Chemist Karnataka
Sachin Tendulkar Cricketer Maharashtra
2015 Madan Mohan Malaviya (Posthumous) Independence Activist Uttar Pradesh
2019 Pranab Mukherjee Politician West Bengal
Bhupen Hazarika (Posthumous) Singer Assam
Nanaji Deshmukh (Posthumous) Social Reformer Maharashtra

Get more Static GK updates – Click Here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *